2001: A Space Odyssey

SERIES
See It Big! (July–September, 2012)

July 6–September 9, 2012

The Museum’s popular ongoing film series See It Big! celebrates the joys of large-scale moviegoing. It provides a chance to discover or revisit essential films in their full theatrical splendor in one of the finest film venues in the country. Great movies transport us into new worlds, and they immerse us visually and aurally. Despite the easy availability of movies on portable devices and small screens, there is only one way to really see a movie: BIG! The Museum always endeavors to show a film in the best available version, whether it is a stunning digital restoration of Apocalypse Now Redux, supervised by Francis Ford Coppola, or a rare screening of a vintage Technicolor 35mm print of Vertigo. Projection formats are noted throughout.

See it Big! is curated as a collaboration between Reverse Shot editors Michael Koresky and Jeff Reichert and the Museum’s Chief Curator, David Schwartz, and Assistant Film Curator, Rachael Rakes.

Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey
Friday, July 6, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey
Saturday, July 7, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey
Saturday, July 7, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey
Sunday, July 8, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey
Sunday, July 8, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
Apocalypse Now Redux
Friday, July 13, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
One from the Heart
Saturday, July 14, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
Apocalypse Now Redux
Saturday, July 14, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
One from the Heart
Sunday, July 15, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
Apocalypse Now Redux
Sunday, July 15, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
Cabaret
Friday, July 20, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
The Red Shoes
Saturday, July 21, 3:00 p.m.
Screening & Live Event
The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp
Saturday, July 21, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
The Red Shoes
Sunday, July 22, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp
Sunday, July 22, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
To Catch a Thief
Saturday, July 28, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
Vertigo
Saturday, July 28, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
To Catch a Thief
Sunday, July 29, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
Vertigo
Sunday, July 29, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
Rio Bravo
Saturday, August 4, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
The Wild Bunch
Saturday, August 4, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
Rio Bravo
Sunday, August 5, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
The Wild Bunch
Sunday, August 5, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
The Leopard
Saturday, August 11, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
Fellini Satyricon
Saturday, August 11, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
The Leopard
Sunday, August 12, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
Fellini Satyricon
Sunday, August 12, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
Taxi Driver
Friday, August 17, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
The Searchers
Saturday, August 18, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
Taxi Driver
Saturday, August 18, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
The Searchers
Sunday, August 19, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
Taxi Driver
Sunday, August 19, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
Brazil
Friday, August 24, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
Brazil
Saturday, August 25, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
Blue Velvet
Saturday, August 25, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
Brazil
Sunday, August 26, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
Blue Velvet
Sunday, August 26, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
Doctor Zhivago
Friday, August 31, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
Doctor Zhivago
Saturday, September 1, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
The Bridge on the River Kwai
Saturday, September 1, 6:30 p.m.
Screening
Doctor Zhivago
Sunday, September 2, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
The Bridge on the River Kwai
Sunday, September 2, 6:30 p.m.
Screening
The Last Picture Show
Friday, September 7, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
Ben-Hur
Saturday, September 8, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
The Last Picture Show
Saturday, September 8, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
Ben-Hur
Sunday, September 9, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
The Last Picture Show
Sunday, September 9, 7:00 p.m.