Close Encounters of the Third Kind

SERIES
See It Big! Science Fiction (Part Two)

June 7–July 12

See It Big! is an ongoing series organized by Reverse Shot editors Michael Koresky and Jeff Reichert, Chief Curator David Schwartz, and Assistant Film Curator Aliza Ma

Science fiction is the most spectacular of film genres, immersing us in fully imagined futuristic worlds. The See It Big! sci-fi series concludes in spectacular fashion with ultra-rare 70mm screenings of Stanley Kubrick’s masterpiece 2001: A Space Odyssey and special-effects genius Douglas Trumbull’s most ambitious film as director, Brainstorm.

Screening
Metropolis
Saturday, June 7, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
Forbidden Planet
Sunday, June 8, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
Godzilla: The Japanese Original
Saturday, June 14, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
Invasion of the Body Snatchers
Saturday, June 14, 4:30 p.m.
Screening
The Abyss
Sunday, June 15, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
Avatar in 3-D
Sunday, June 15, 5:30 p.m.
Screening
Je T’Aime, Je T’Aime
Friday, June 20, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
Videodrome
Saturday, June 21, 4:00 p.m.
Screening
The Terminator
Saturday, June 21, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
Solaris
Sunday, June 22, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
Je T’Aime, Je T’Aime
Sunday, June 22, 6:00 p.m.
Screening
Robocop
Friday, June 27, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
The Day the Earth Stood Still
Saturday, June 28, 2:00 p.m.
Screening
Mars Attacks!
Saturday, June 28, 4:30 p.m.
Screening
Silent Running
Saturday, June 28, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial
Sunday, June 29, 1:30 p.m.
Screening
Close Encounters of the Third Kind
Sunday, June 29, 4:00 p.m.
Screening
A.I. Artificial Intelligence
Sunday, June 29, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey in 70mm
Saturday, July 5, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey in 70mm
Saturday, July 5, 6:30 p.m.
Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey in 70mm
Sunday, July 6, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey in 70mm
Sunday, July 6, 6:30 p.m.
Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey in 70mm
Saturday, July 12, 3:30 p.m.
Screening
Brainstorm in 70mm
Saturday, July 12, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
2001: A Space Odyssey in 70mm
Sunday, July 13, 3:00 p.m.
Screening
Brainstorm in 70mm
Sunday, July 13, 7:00 p.m.