Of Men and War

SERIES
New Adventures in Nonfiction

Ongoing

For several years now, the most consistently adventurous, unpredictable, intelligent, and dynamic films have been works of nonfiction. While never a simple, stodgy, info-based category of film—regardless of what some have claimed or assumed—today’s nonfiction filmmakers are newly committed to inventing new genres and modes, and to expanding, exploding, refining, and interrogating them as they happen. These are days of artistic masterpieces, cris de coeur, impeccably crafted yarns, and purposefully irreconcilable experiments all working within the deceptively nondescript “documentary” catchall. This ongoing series will showcase some of the most exciting and challenging works of recent nonfiction.

Organized by Associate Curator of Film Eric Hynes

Screening & Live Event
Of Men and War
Sunday, April 17, 3:30 p.m.
Screening & Live Event
Sweaty Betty
Sunday, April 17, 7:00 p.m.
Screening
The Chinese Mayor
Sunday, June 26, 4:00 p.m.
Screening & Live Event
Approaching the Elephant
Sunday, June 26, 6:30 p.m.
Screening & Live Event
Raising Bertie
Sunday, August 28, 7:00 p.m.
Screening & Live Event
Nuts!
Saturday, October 1, 6:30 p.m.
Screening
Kate Plays Christine
Friday, October 21, 7:30 p.m. Bartos Theater
Screening
Kate Plays Christine
Saturday, October 22, 1:30 p.m. Bartos Theater
Screening & Live Event
Kate Plays Christine
Saturday, October 22, 4:00 p.m. Bartos Theater
Screening & Live Event
Kate Plays Christine
Sunday, October 23, 1:30 p.m. Bartos Theater
Screening
Kate Plays Christine
Sunday, October 23, 6:00 p.m. Bartos Theater
Screening & Live Event
Fire at Sea
Thursday, January 12, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening & Live Event
The Illinois Parables
Sunday, March 19, 6:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening & Live Event
The Prison in Twelve Landscapes
Sunday, March 19, 6:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening & Live Event
Contemporary Color
Friday, April 28, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
F*ck for Forest
Sunday, June 4, 6:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening & Live Event
Off Frame AKA Revolution Until Victory
Sunday, July 16, 6:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room
Screening
Two by Bill Morrison: Beyond Zero: 1914–1918 and J…
Sunday, August 20, 4:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room
New Release
Close Relations (Rodnye)
Sunday, September 24, 6:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room
Screening
Mama Colonel
Sunday, October 8, 4:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room
Screening & Live Event
The Departure
Sunday, October 8, 6:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room