Two Trains Runnin'

SERIES
Changing the Picture (2017)

Ongoing

Sponsored by Time Warner Inc.
Organized by Chief Curator David Schwartz and Warrington Hudlin

This ongoing series celebrates and explores the work of film and television artists of color who are bringing diverse voices to the screen. The series, which consists of screenings and discussions with directors, writers, actors, scholars, and more, includes contemporary work as well as historically significant work that has played an important role in the evolving attempt to “change the picture” and bring a wider variety of voices and visions to the moving image.


Screening & Live Event
Two Trains Runnin'
Friday, January 27, 7:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
The Strolling ‘20s
Saturday, February 4, 1:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Live Event
A Conversation with Walter Mosley: The Living Lega…
Saturday, February 4, 2:15 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Kansas City
Saturday, February 4, 3:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Carmen Jones
Saturday, February 4, 6:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening & Live Event
BlaxploItalian: 100 Years of Blackness in Italian …
Friday, February 10, 5:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
New Release
I Am Not Your Negro
Friday, March 24, 7:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening & Live Event
A Duke Named Ellington
Friday, April 28, 7:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
SCREENING & LIVE EVENT
Surviving Surveillance, Catering to America: Shahi…
Friday, May 19, 7:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening & Live Event
Tyrus
Saturday, June 24, 4:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image – Bartos Screening Room
Screening & Live Event
Title VII
Friday, July 28, 7:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room
Preview Screening & Live Event
Dolores
Thursday, August 31, 7:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
SCREENING & LIVE EVENT
I Am or How Jack Became Black
Saturday, October 7, 2:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room
Screening & Live Event
Universal Hip Hop Museum presents UHHM Cares
Friday, October 27, 7:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening & Live Event
I Am Another You
Sunday, October 29, 4:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room
Screening & Live Event
LA 92
Saturday, November 18, 3:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room