From the set of New York, New York. Courtesy of Sikelia Productions.

SERIES
Martin Scorsese Retrospective

January 15–April 23

The ultimate cineaste, Martin Scorsese is as devoted to the history of the art form as he is to creating movies that push the medium in new directions. Over the past half-century, he has been restlessly inventive and ambitious, from his exuberant low-budget 1967 debut feature, Who’s That Knocking at My Door, set in New York, to his latest, Silence, a passion project that takes place in seventeeth-century Japan. A voracious viewer of film and reader of literature and history, Scorsese makes movies that reflect wide-ranging and varied influences, beyond classic Hollywood, and including documentary, avant-garde, and international cinema. And his work is far from insular; it is deeply engaged with the world. Along with the intense stylization that pervades his movies, there is always an underlying documentary impulse.

Presented in conjunction with the major exhibition, Martin Scorsese, devoted to the director’s work, life, and love of cinema, currently on view at the Museum, this comprehensive retrospective (which began in December 2016) features all of Scorsese’s films, programs with his creative partners, and a selection of films restored through The Film Foundation, the organization he helped found to save significant international films.

Related book: Martin Scorsese: He Is Cinema, a book of essays on every film directed by Scorsese, brilliantly edited by Michael Koresky and Jeff Reichert and published by the Museum and Reverse Shot. (Currently on sale exclusively in the Museum Shop)

Additional programs will be announced as they are confirmed.

Screening & Live Event
An Afternoon with Rob Legato, Visual Effects Maste…
Sunday, January 15, 1:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Mean Streets
Friday, January 20, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening & Live Event
Who's that Knocking at My Door?
Saturday, January 21, 2:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Who's that Knocking at My Door?
Sunday, January 22, 2:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Mean Streets
Sunday, January 22, 5:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Taxi Driver
Friday, January 27, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
New York, New York
Saturday, January 28, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Raging Bull
Saturday, January 28, 6:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening & Live Event
New York, New York
Sunday, January 29, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening & Live Event
Raging Bull presented by Reverse Shot
Sunday, January 29, 5:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening & Live Event
The King of Comedy
Friday, February 3, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Taxi Driver
Saturday, February 4, 1:00 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
The King of Comedy
Sunday, February 5, 3:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Taxi Driver
Sunday, February 5, 6:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
GoodFellas
Friday, February 10, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
GoodFellas
Saturday, February 11, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Casino
Saturday, February 11, 5:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Casino
Sunday, February 12, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Last Waltz
Friday, February 17, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Martin Scorsese Presents the Blues: Feels Like Goi…
Saturday, February 18, 2:00 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
Shine a Light
Saturday, February 18, 4:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Last Waltz
Saturday, February 18, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
George Harrison: Living in a Material World
Sunday, February 19, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Shine a Light
Sunday, February 19, 6:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Kundun
Friday, February 24, 7:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
Kundun
Saturday, February 25, 3:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Last Temptation of Christ
Saturday, February 25, 6:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Last Temptation of Christ
Sunday, February 26, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Silence
Sunday, February 26, 5:15 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Color of Money
Friday, March 3, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Cape Fear (1962)
Saturday, March 4, 3:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Cape Fear
Saturday, March 4, 6:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Hustler
Sunday, March 5, 3:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Color of Money
Sunday, March 5, 6:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
After Hours
Friday, March 10, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
After Hours
Saturday, March 11, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
New York Stories
Saturday, March 11, 4:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Bringing Out the Dead
Saturday, March 11, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Bringing Out the Dead
Sunday, March 12, 1:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
After Hours
Sunday, March 12, 7:00 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening & Live Event
The Age of Innocence
Friday, March 17, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Gangs of New York
Saturday, March 18, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Age of Innocence
Sunday, March 19, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Gangs of New York
Sunday, March 19, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening & Live Event
Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore
Friday, March 24, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Public Speaking
Saturday, March 25, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Boxcar Bertha
Saturday, March 25, 4:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore
Saturday, March 25, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The 50 Year Argument
Sunday, March 26, 1:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Boxcar Bertha
Sunday, March 26, 4:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
Mysterious Object at Noon (Dokfa nai meuman)
Sunday, March 26, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Night of Counting the Years (Al-mummia)
Saturday, April 1, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Crisis: Behind a Presidential Commitment
Saturday, April 1, 5:00 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
Journey into Light
Saturday, April 1, 6:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
A Letter to Elia & Lady by the Sea: The Statue of …
Sunday, April 2, 1:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
America America
Sunday, April 2, 3:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Red Shoes
Sunday, April 2, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Shark Tale
Saturday, April 8, 12:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Italianamerican
Saturday, April 8, 2:15 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Akira Kurosawa's Dreams
Saturday, April 8, 3:30 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
A Personal Journey with Martin Scorsese Through Am…
Sunday, April 9, 1:00 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
The Color of Pomegranates (Sayat Nova)
Sunday, April 9, 2:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
The Red Shoes
Sunday, April 9, 4:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Silence
Friday, April 14, 7:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
My Voyage to Italy (Il mio viaggio in Italia)
Saturday, April 15, 1:00 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
Italianamerican
Saturday, April 15, 6:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
A Personal Journey with Martin Scorsese Through Am…
Sunday, April 16, 1:00 p.m. Bartos Screening Room
Screening
Kundun
Sunday, April 16, 3:00 p.m. Redstone Theater
Screening
Italianamerican
Sunday, April 16, 6:30 p.m. Bartos Screening Room