Interstellar

SERIES
See It Big! Outer Space

February 7–April 19
Cinema is all about space and time. This is why movies about outer space—where time does not have the same meaning as it does here on Earth—make for particularly cinematic voyages. The development of special photographic effects have made depictions of our mysterious galaxy all the more vivid and authentic as the years have passed, but even the most rudimentary representations of outer space, which have existed since the form's beginnings, have always inspired awe. No cinematic images of the mysteries of our solar system have ever been more mind-expanding than Stanley Kubrick's groundbreaking 1968 masterpiece 2001: A Space Odyssey, perhaps the most awesome film ever made—a scientifically accurate yet utterly abstract journey into the far reaches of human consciousness. Yet there have been countless other films about outer space that deserve to be seen—and to be seen big. On the occasion of the major new exhibition Envisioning 2001: Stanley Kubrick's Space Odyssey, this edition of the Museum’s signature screening series See It Big! features some of the century's greatest depictions of outer space, from documentaries to sci-fi spectaculars to camp satires.

Organized by Curator of Film Eric Hynes and Assistant Curator of Film Edo Choi in collaboration with Reverse Shot editors Michael Koresky and Jeff Reichert
Screening
Solaris
Friday, February 7, 7:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Barbarella
Friday, February 14, 7:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Solaris
Saturday, February 15, 5:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening & Live Event
Star Trek: The Motion Picture
Sunday, February 16, 2:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Barbarella
Sunday, February 16, 5:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room
Screening
Space Is the Place
Friday, February 21, 7:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Aelita, Queen of Mars
Saturday, February 22, 3:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Flash Gordon
Saturday, February 22, 6:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Aelita, Queen of Mars
Sunday, February 23, 4:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Flash Gordon
Sunday, February 23, 7:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Alien
Friday, February 28, 7:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Dark Star
Saturday, February 29, 3:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Alien
Saturday, February 29, 5:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Dark Star
Sunday, March 1, 6:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Bartos Screening Room
Screening
Gravity
Friday, March 6, 8:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Star Trek: The Motion Picture
Sunday, March 8, 1:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Gravity
Sunday, March 8, 6:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening & Live Event
On the Silver Globe
Saturday, March 14, 12:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Wall-E
Saturday, March 21, 3:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Wall-E
Sunday, March 22, 12:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Spaceballs
Friday, March 27, 8:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Spaceballs
Saturday, March 28, 3:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Wall-E
Sunday, March 29, 5:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
The Right Stuff
Saturday, April 4, 6:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
The Right Stuff
Friday, April 10, 7:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
For All Mankind
Saturday, April 11, 3:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Apollo 11
Saturday, April 11, 5:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Interstellar
Sunday, April 12, 6:30 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
For All Mankind
Saturday, April 18, 3:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Apollo 11
Sunday, April 19, 1:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater
Screening
Interstellar
Sunday, April 19, 3:00 p.m. Museum of the Moving Image - Redstone Theater